jump to navigation

PDA software January 13, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in Student Life.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

129

I’ve had my PDA since the start of nursing school… uh, because they told us we’d need it. Not so much though. It’s been collecting dust in its box for the past year. But now that I’m starting my preceptorship, I will no longer have the luxury of looking up my patient the night before for patho, labs, and meds. I thought it would be nice to have something at my fingertips.

I looked up PEPID online. That’s the software they required us to have for a year. Little did I know that after the sub was up, all that info would be gone. Sayonara. Hasta la bye-bye. Grrr…

I did not renew due to the steep price and my empty pockets. Needless to say I still do not feel like forking over another hundred or so, especially for a program that is going to be oh-so temporary.

Amazon.com has some PDA software, mostly drug books or lab/diagnostics. The price is decent. The info will not disappear on me in 12 months’ time… however, I will only get what I pay for. That is, it’ll be a digital drug book or a diagnostics book for PDA.

The beauty of PEPID is the “comprehensive clinical information” it provides. But oh the cost! Would it be worth it? I was salivating a bit over PEPID’s Critical Care Nursing Suite. Then again…

$89.95 for 6 months. $149.95 for 12 months. Yikes!

Do you use a PDA? What software do you use and do you find it useful?

Comments»

1. nursekenny - January 15, 2010

Hey FNN!

Yep, we were required to get a PDA for school as well. They basically told us what to get, and I subscribed for 2 years at the outset through our bookstore.

We were told to get Nursing Central from Unbound Medicine. I actually just got it through the iTunes store! It includes:

*Davis’s Drug Guide
*Davis’s Lab & Diagnostic Tests
*Diseases and Disorders
*MEDLINE Journals
*Taber’s Medical Dictionary

They’re pretty comprehensive, and I do find myself using it, especially the Drug Guide, since we have to tell our instructor what the meds are (AEs, indications, warnings, etc) before giving them. Comes in handy.

Glad to see you posting! Keep it up!
NK

futurenightnurse - January 16, 2010

Thanks, NK! That does sound like a good bundle. I’ll have to look into it… hopefully they’ll have something compatible with the Palm OS. =)

2. Teeny - January 17, 2010

I use Skyscape, which I have found to be extremely helpful, and a lot of their software is compatible with Palm devices. You download the free desktop portal, and then you pay to purchase individual pieces (or bundles) of nursing software. Plus they have a lot of helpful free stuff as well.

I like it because you only have one icon that shows up on your home screen, and you access all of your references through this central location. Plus they have excellent online support. When I switched from a Blackberry to an iTouch, they helped me move everything over.

futurenightnurse - January 18, 2010

Ok, thanks again. I’ll definitely look into it. I just realized I can’t find the cord to sync my PDA to my computer so I’ll probably tackle that first! lol


Leave a Reply

