jump to navigation

The Other “3 Rs” January 16, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in General, Just One Thing.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I love the portability of plastic water bottles. I usually buy a case of 24. Then each morning before I head to class I grab a bottle or two and go.

Convenient. Easy. Disposable.

Uh-oh. The d-word! I know I’m not the greenest person in the world, but I’m trying to do my best by:

  • purchasing the ones made with less plastic
  • refilling the bottles a few times before disposing of them
  • recycling the bottles 

Still, I feel guilty for supporting the creation of so much waste. I have to admit, my environmental health class last semester made an impact. So here is “just one thing” that I’m changing this January (and possibly forever):

Just One Thing

This beauty here was only a few bucks at Target. It’s an aluminum water bottle by Gaiam. It’s cute (I love the writing on the side), portable, cold water seems to stay cold longer in this bottle, AND the best part: there is less waste! Yesss… I can refill it as many times as I want!

The only downside is that I have to wash it instead of just tossing it… but that’s ok. I think I’ll survive.

Do you do any of the 3 Rs (reduce, reuse, recycle)?

Comments»

1. nursekenny - January 18, 2010

Definitely. Had one of the awesome Nalgene bottles, until they told me that BPA will cause me to die a horrible death sooner rather than later. Changed to one of those fancy stainless steel water bottles, but it doesn’t stay as sealed as the Nalgene. Switched back to Nalgene once they came out with bottles without BPA.

Back to Nalgene. Love ’em. 🙂

futurenightnurse - January 18, 2010

Hmm… dying a horrible death would put a damper on things. lol


Leave a Reply

