jump to navigation

Home (part 1) January 23, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in Clinical, Student Life.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

119

Two years into the program and I still wasn’t sure where I wanted to be. I liked PACU, ED, L&D, etc. but any time someone would ask what “area” I saw myself working in, I honestly couldn’t tell them. I just didn’t know yet.

I liked PACU because it seemed so awesome that the nurses would be watching over the patients as they came out of surgery, making sure they were waking up and breathing, not bleeding out or having other adverse events, titrating their meds, being the first person they see coming out of anesthesia (besides the anesthesiologist) and telling them Hey you made it out of there alive!

I liked ED because it’s wham-bam-thank-you-ma’am! Turn over was great and I honestly was once at a point in my life where I did not want any emotional attachment to patients. (LOL talk about transference… I was having some other personal issues at this time also.) So for ED it was: figure out what’s wrong and “fix it”, then 1) send them home, 2)  transfer them to the floor, or 3) send them to the morgue.

I liked L&D because it’s watching new life come into the world. Being a mother myself, I knew what a big deal it was to have a good birthing experience. I also liked the teaching aspect with antepartum and postpartum. I had a great experience with teaching breastfeeding, diaper changing, recognizing what “normal” is, etc. (This is also the time during which I got over the whole not wanting to get attached to patients thing.)

But yet…

None of these places spoke to me. I was even ready to accept Med-Surg as a starting point. After all, I’d been told that is a rite of passage for most graduate nurses. I thought maybe I’d just find my way after that.

(to be continued)

Comments»

1. kimcheegirl - January 24, 2010

I do the same thing! I have no idea where I want to be, but everyone is concerned about keeping or losing their skills (foleys, blood draws, etc). If you want to be a home nurse and you don’t need a particular skill, why worry about it, right?

I’m currently playing with the idea of dialysis nurse at the hospital. I get to keep my skillz and still have 8-4 hours… but is that where I’ll be happy…?

futurenightnurse - January 24, 2010

What I absolutely love about nursing is that there are so many different specialties we could go into! It seems like every nurse I’ve ever had these past 2 1/2 years didn’t always start where they are now. That gives me hope that where I start doesn’t necessarily mean that’s where I’ll stay forever. lol

2. mindexplosion - January 25, 2010

Gosh, I love PACU and ED also!! I’m just getting to L&D this semester. But I also like PICU.

So difficult.

futurenightnurse - January 26, 2010

I liked PICU, too! But the hospital I was at for my peds rotation limited what nursing students could/could not do. We were basically shadowing the RN. Meh.

3. mmmaylin - January 26, 2010

I feel you! I think many people don’t know exactly what they want in the beginning, but from listening to experienced nurses, I realized that they find their passion by taking whatever opportunities thrown at them, because seriously, nursing is so diverse, it takes time to know every possible position a nurse can take. So, it’s always safe to have your basic nursing skills down and if you end up specializing in some area, pretty sure you’ll get specialized training. Be flexible and keep an open mind/heart. 🙂


Leave a Reply

