jump to navigation

You Never Know January 26, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in Student Life.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

116

Any place you go there’s always at least one person that tends to rub others the wrong way. Especially Even nursing school. Lucky for me I’ve dealt with difficult people my whole life (thank you, family) so I can pretty much get along with anyone. One of my former study mates (“former” only because he graduated early by combining his 5th and 6th semesters) was known as the smart ass of our group. He used to annoy me and another mate during class. I’m the shrug-it-off or laugh-at-myself type, so it didn’t bother me too much. My friend, however, took it to heart… she was irritated at the mere sight of him.

Anyway, long story short: you cannot judge a book by its cover! Or sometimes not even by the first few pages, either. Smart Ass (and I say that lovingly) was a real big help recently. I almost expected he would be too busy to answer a text from me, but he surely did. =)

I had been worried about which ICU floor to choose, who to pick as a preceptor (or more importantly, who to avoid), etc. By taking me seriously when I went into panic mode, he made me feel so much more at ease with the whole ordeal. It all worked out just fine last week.

It would’ve been easy to write this guy off as a douche. Seriously. But he really is a nice guy after all. You just never know.

Has anyone surprised you?

Comments»

1. travelistarn - February 1, 2010

that’s awesome!

my lab partner in my bio class this semester has completely surprised me. he looked like he didn’t want to be in class, didn’t pay attention to the lecture..etc. i was dreading having to pull his weight on the lab assignments. BUT he totally knocked out our lab practical today and actually knew his stuff! we were the first pair done, which meant i got home at 8 tonight instead of 10!

i need to remember to not be so quick to write someone off.


Leave a Reply

