jump to navigation

B.S. January 30, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in Student Life.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

112

I went to the evaluations office yesterday to pick up my baccaulaureate degree application. They asked me if I was going to be finishing up the graduation requirements this semester. I paused. Let it sink in. Let myself process.

“Yes,” I answered finally. She handed me the application.

For a mere $35 I can apply to graduate! Yessss!!! This is so funny to me because 1) you pay to get in, 2) you pay an arm and a leg, and perhaps your firstborn so you can complete your degree requirements, and then 3) you have to pay to leave. Yes, yes… it’s the way the world works. Economics blah blah. I’ll be glad to be out of school with my BSN.

Sorry if I sound a little bitter. It’s just my school… I go to a public uni. So with the recession and the subsequent decrease in tax revenue, decreased school budget, increased school fees… I’ve basically been paying more and getting less for it. We all have.

I wonder if students in other institutions are experiencing effects of the recession. (Specifically with decreased school budgets, less classes being offered, hours being cut, teachers being furloughed, teacher’s salaries being cut, library being closed, increased fees, cutting enrollment… I can go on forever. lol)

Anyway, this was supposed to be a happy post! Ignore all that whining and complaining in the previous 3 paragraphs. Let’s party! After I turn that sucker in all I have to do is survive this semester, pay a few more fees (haha), and I’m outtie! Woot!

What do you think? What’s going on at your school?

Comments»

1. nursekenny - January 30, 2010

Hey FNN, I feel like, at our school, one of the things I definitely see is a tightening of available resources, ie, hospitals to do clinical at.

Examples:
1. Sending people farther and farther away because local hospitals don’t want the students.
2. Allowing people only 1/2 day in the OR because of too many students and not enough surgeries.

I think a lot of it has to do with the glut of nursing students, partly due to the economy, right?

2. b-bot - January 31, 2010

Paying to get in, paying to get out, lol, so true! But congrats!

Our university faced 20% budget cuts at the beginning of the year. A ton of changes have been made, but the most shocking has been basically privatizing the most expensive nursing program. The FNP graduate program is at this time totally fee-based and SUPER-expensive. I’m enrolled to start the PNP graduate program next fall and I’m afraid it may be the next to go . . .

3. kimcheegirl - January 31, 2010

Ugh. Complain away. For the money we’re all paying, I thikn we deserve to have freedom of complain. 🙂

4. travelistarn - February 1, 2010

i totally feel your pain – my grad program is ridiculous! i just paid $100 to apply for graduation this may. if this keeps up, i might have to give up my first born to actually apply to and complete nursing school!

congrats on being in your last semester and graduating!

5. Laney - February 6, 2010

Bahhh so jealous…but I’m excited for you!!


Leave a Reply

