jump to navigation

In two months… February 1, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in Student Life.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

110

Apparently a new version of the NCLEX is released every three years. Lucky us, the next one is out on April 1, 2010! First thing that came to my mind was, “haha April Fools!” but of course, I’m sure there really is going to be a revision…

Darn!

A rep from Kaplan came to our class today to tell us about their courses. Prices seem a little much, but I’ve heard good things. Also, I know a couple people who did HESI instead of Kaplan. I remain undecided. After all, I am already taking a case study/NCLEX review course through my uni, plus the ATIs.

What about you? Will you be taking Kaplan, HESI, or other review course?

*edit* I think I meant Hurst instead of HESI…

Comments»

1. b-bot - February 1, 2010

It’s nice that your school offers an NCLEX review course as part of normal coursework. It seems that should cover it, right? I’m a little suspicious of exam review companies . . .

futurenightnurse - February 3, 2010

The NCLEX review course is optional. Surprisingly, not everybody in my cohort signed up for it. My fees already cover it, so heck why not? lol

I am a little wary of exam review companies, too, that’s why I’m asking around. Nothin’ like good old fashioned word-of-mouth!

2. kimcheegirl - February 4, 2010

Hurst or hurts? I think it hurts, personally.. 😉 (been doing clinical and ppwk since 2am.. ugh.. sleep now…)

futurenightnurse - February 10, 2010

lol I’m sure the price hurts.

3. Laney - February 6, 2010

Well, my mom swears by Kaplan (she graduated last May)…so I’ll probably do that. But different strokes for different folks!

futurenightnurse - February 10, 2010

I wish they stratified the pass rate data according to what preparation method was used. ^____^

4. mmmaylin - February 8, 2010

Hurst is more content based. They make sure you know your stuff and it has a 98% pass rate. Kaplan is more test strategy based. Don’t know about you, but I’ve come across many questions where I can eliminate down to two but the problem is I don’t have that extra bit of knowledge to figure the right answer. If you’re like me, take Hurst. But if you’re on top of your nursing knowledge, maybe all you need is just some strategies.

futurenightnurse - February 10, 2010

I heard that about Hurst. =) Fortunately the class I’m taking now is content based. I’ll have to decide after if I need more content or need to work on strategy. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

