jump to navigation

Leave no man behind! February 10, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in Student Life.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

101

What I remember most about the time leading up to nursing school is how hard I worked for my grades in my prerequisite and lower G.E. classes.

How hard *I* worked.

Sure there were lab groups and some group projects in the sciences, but for the most part work was done solo. I didn’t dare help someone else reach for that A… it was a race to the top! With an impacted nursing program, they only took the students with the top GPAs.

It all changed after that. After you get in the program, I mean. If I’ve learned anything in nursing school these past couple years, it’s that you have to work as a team. They told us from the get-go that we should form study groups… I still remember how all of us anal nursing students took to that suggestion. (Hint: not well.) After the first exam, though, we saw the wisdom in it… so study groups were formed.

Not only study groups, but friendships! I really, honestly don’t think I would’ve made it through this far if not for my friends. They gave me a lot of support and encouragement along the way. For that I am thankful.

But here we are at the end of nursing school. Senioritis is kicking in, and it’s more important now than ever to keep each other above the water. Instead I feel like… we’ve reverted to every man for himself. Have we? After all, at the end of this semester we’ll be graduate nurses, each vying for jobs that are now scarce. Sure we want our friends to pass boards, but then again… idk.

There’s this person I’m worried about… I’ve tried to be encouraging, but nada. My other friends have taken the approach, “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink,” and I can totally see where they’re coming from. But really??? I don’t want to see any of my friends fail.

How do you see your classmates? As friends? Or competition?

Comments»

1. b-bot - February 10, 2010

I love my classmates! For example, my whole life, I have always hated group projects because I felt like I had to shoulder most of the thought and work involved . . . until I came to nursing school. These people are amazing! I can always count on my group members to be really interested in the subject at hand, thoughtful and perceptive, and willing to do the leg-work involved. It’s so refreshing. And I don’t know where I’d be without our group study sessions!

2. travelistarn - February 11, 2010

While I am still doing prereqs for nursing school everyone is the “competition”. There is a nice girl in my bio class who is applying to a dental hygienist program at the same school I am applying to so we’ve been studying together. It’s been nice to have someone to study with! In my grad classes, it’s all group work and I HATE it!! There are always one or two slackers who try to just do the minimum because they know everyone else will work their ass off for the A.


Leave a Reply

