jump to navigation

Testing 1-2-3 February 11, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in tips.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

100

So my senior project (a.k.a. community service hours) is at the skills testing lab. Yes, I willingly chose to be one of the testers for the new nursing students. It’s a nice skills refresher, actually… and I feel like I can make a difference. I remember how scary it was on testing days and even scarier when your tester looked mean. I try to smile. But not too much (they might think I’m crazy). I always try to tell them what they did great before I tell them how they screwed up. Most of the students are prepared, but others… ahhh… not so much.

Here are some things to remember on testing day:

– Have all your supplies ready–put them all in a big ziploc baggie if you have to. That way you don’t waste precious time rummaging through your supply bag or backpack for stuff. The clock is ticking.
– Actually bring your stuff. That includes nursing staples like a watch with a second hand, black pen, and stethoscope.
– Introduce yourself to your tester. (We don’t bite. Usually.)
– Talk loudly enough for the tester to hear you, if we don’t hear you verbalize something we can take off points.
– Don’t talk too loudly that nobody else can be heard. It’s annoying.
– Don’t chew gum. Do I have to explain why?
– Know where to find peripheral pulses. You should know by now.
– Know how to do an assessment. Practice on a friend if you have to.
– Know how to do the skill you are testing for. Really.
– Unless told by the instructor, you are treating the whole patient/mannequin. If you see a ginormous wound/dressing, assess it… even if it’s Foley day.
– Do not fight for every little point. If you have a valid concern or you didn’t understand something, please point it out. But if you argue with me for that 1/2 point I took off because you didn’t DO what you were supposed to… I’m going to nitpick other things.
– Do not talk about me in the hallway afterwards. Chances are I can hear you.
– Practice! Practice! Practice!

The end.

Comments»

1. travelistarn - February 11, 2010

LOL at the second to last one. Why do people always assume just because they are in the hallway or outside of the room other people cannot hear them? This happens in meetings at work all the time.

2. kimcheegirl - February 14, 2010

Very cool. Must have felt kind of good for the shoe to be on the other foot.


Leave a Reply

