jump to navigation

not quite in the fetal position… February 25, 2010

Posted by futurenightnurse in Student Life.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

86

Is it spring break yet?

If I can offer any advice to anyone out there still in the early stages of their nursing school experience or perhaps still taking their prerequisites, DO NOT put off your other graduation requirements (read: GE classes) till the “easy” semester. That’s what I did… yes, the workload for nursing is not much this time around (hence “easy”) and while all I wanna do is focus on studying for NCLEX and rack up more preceptorship hours I can’t. I also really wish I could’ve signed up for advanced assessment or any other class related to my major. But nope. I have to use my “extra” time expanding my knowledge in areas non-nursing.

Let’s just say I’d rather patho or pharm all over again than have to write all these fluff papers… or do projects with people I don’t even know…

Yeah, it’s like that.

/rant

Comments»

1. Itsjustme - February 26, 2010

GAH! I really hate all the fluff. I’m in pre-reqs now and fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it) we are required to have most of our pre-reqs complete before applying. Well, not really required but you get more points toward acceptance into the program if you have all your hours done.

Sorry you have to deal with the mundane pre-req crap rather than focusing on nursing only. What pre-reqs are you taking now?

futurenightnurse - February 27, 2010

My pre-reqs and lower division GE were done long ago… but when I transfered to university and started the nursing program little did I know there were upper division GEs to be done. That’s what I’m stuck with now. My other classes are Asian-American Studies, a writing class, and an art class (a little more on the art-appreciation side).

2. Laney - February 27, 2010

Fluff sucks. Hope it goes quickly! 86 days will fly by for sure.

=]

futurenightnurse - February 27, 2010

I enjoy the classes… but I don’t enjoy the writing assignments. lol


Leave a Reply

